I was 30 and she was 10… I became a mother and she was no more an orphan.

One dark night, I saw a girl standing under a lamp-post staring at it
rubbing her eyes waiting for it to be lit
I went near her and asked her with concern
what she was doing there all alone?
she told me her problem with furrowed brow
“How will I study now ?”
“You don’t have lights at your home?” I asked
“I don’t have a home, I live at an orphanage and it is dim-lit” she said
“I don’t like it there” she added.

Her eyes had that light, had that glow
to conquer her dream and rise above the low
In her I saw the little me
struggling with the cuffs to set herself free
the cuffs of circumstances
the cuffs of helplessness
She looked at me with hope in her eyes
as if I was her fairy and in me her faith lies.

History wont repeat itself this time
An untold story an untold crime
I’ll be there for you and wont let your dream shed
I’ll take you home I said

I was 30 and she was 10
I became a mother and she was no more an orphan

One thought on “I was 30 and she was 10… I became a mother and she was no more an orphan.

Leave a Reply

